All posts by Geraldine Timmins

I am the Community and Engagement Lead for the Learning Innovation Hub and Teche Editor. I'm a communicator, connector and collaborator. I like bringing people together and opening up conversation. Feel free to get in touch with story and event ideas.

Teche has moved

Teche has moved to a brand new site,, with a fresh design and all new content.

Content created prior to November 20, 2017 will remain in this site to view or search.

Thank you to all past Teche contributors and those who created it and built up the blog over many years.

Teche is a place for the Macquarie Learning and Teaching community to share news, resources, tips, advice, examples of teaching practice, staff profiles, information on the latest learning technologies and human interest stories. We welcome contributions from across the entire Macquarie Community. If you have a story to tell, an event to promote or an idea to circulate, please get in contact at

Congratulations to the Academic Staff Award Winners!

The first Academic Staff Awards was held yesterday, celebrating the Learning and Teaching Awards and Research Excellence Awards together. It was wonderful to see so members of the community gather for this celebration and inspiring to see students coming to support their teachers.

We’d like to offer our warmest congratulations to all the 2017 winners!

Learning and Teaching Awards

Student-led award for Excellence in Teaching

Faculty of Arts – Dr Govand Azeez, Julian Dight, Dr Christopher Forbes

Faculty of Business and Economics – Prashan Shayanka Mendis Karunaratne, Dr Liyu He,  Alex Belli

Faculty of Human Sciences – Dr Anita Szakay, Annette Magee, Mandy Yeates

Faculty of Medicine and Health Science – Dr Mark Butlin, Dr Liz Schroeder, Associate Professor Taryn Jones

Faculty of Science and Engineering – Matthew Mansour

recipient receiving award Academic Staff Awards
Prashan Karunaratne

Vice-Chancellor’s Citation for Outstanding Contribution to Student Learning

Dr Matthew Bailey – Innovative flipped classroom curricula for diverse student cohorts enrolled across multiple, integrated modes of delivery

Dr Karen Pearlman and Dr Iqbal Barkat – Facilitating student engagement, collaboration, communication and employability in screen production through a blend of intensive, online, student-led activities and face-to-face learning and teaching.

Jean-Christophe Froissard, Professor Deborah Richards, Amara Atif and Dr Danny Liu – Innovative learning analytics solution that enhance the learning and teaching student experience.

Dr Laypeng Tan – Excellence in designing and delivering innovative and connected curricula that transforms students and their learning journey.

Associate Professor Kerry Sherman, Dr Sue Ferguson, Dr Jessica Alcorso, Christopher Kilby, Michael Rampe and Michael Catabay – Providing an online, interactive and contextually-rich learning environment for undergraduates in the applied discipline of Health Psychology

Dr Kate Scrivener – Creating an authentic learning environment integrating evidence and professional experiences to enhance future physiotherapists’ management of individuals with complex neurological conditions.

Dr Kira Westaway – Reigniting student curiosity for Earth science by creating effective learning environments that support different learning styles and positively impact the student experience.

Iqbal Barkat and Karen Pearlman

Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Programs that Enhance Learning

PACE international – Strengthens student employability and professional capabilities, while enabling them to become active and thoughtful global citizens. It provides undergraduate students from any discipline the opportunity to contribute to the work of an international community development organisation.

recipient receiving award Academic Staff Awards
Allison Simons

Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Teaching Excellence

Dr Jana Lay-Hwa Bowden, Faculty of Business and Economics

Prashan Shayanka Mendis Karunaratne, Faculty of Business and Economics

Dr Wayne Warburton, Faculty of Human Sciences

Dr Verity Pacey, Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences

recipient receiving award Academic Staff Awards
Wayne Warburton

Research Excellence Awards

Excellence in Higher Degree Research

Humanities, Business and Social Sciences – Dr Nathan Caruana – The Cognitive and Neural Mechanisms of Joint Attention: A Second Person Approach

Medicine, Science and Engineering –  Dr Louise Kristensen – Identification and measurement of contemporary sources and exposure risks from lead emissions and depositions in Australia

Excellence in Higher Degree Research Supervision

Professor Paul Haynes

Early Career Researcher of the Year

Humanities, Business and Social Sciences – Dr Carly Johnco –  Using mechanisms of anxiety to improve treatment

Medicine, Science and Engineering –  Dr Chris Reid – Understanding biological complex systems

recipient receiving award Academic Staff Awards
Carly Johnco

Excellence in Research: Future-shaping research priorities

Healthy People – Associate Professor Kerry Sherman – BRECONDA – a clinician resource to assist with surgical decision making in the breast cancer context

Resilient Societies – Professor Kathryn Millard – Reinterpreting Milgram’s Obedience Studies via Documentary Film

Prosperous Economies – Professor Mark Wiggins – Using Cue Utilisation to Measure Diagnostic Skills in Applied Industrial Settings

Secure Planet – Dr Kira Westaway – Dating the events that define our humanity

Innovative Technologies – Associate Professor Rich Mildren –  Diamond Lasers: A Disruptive New Technology for Industry and Defence

The Jim Piper Award for Excellence in Research Leadership

Associate Professor Melanie Bishop

recipient receiving award Academic Staff Awards
Melanie Bishop

2017 Distinguished Professors

Michael Gillings
Michelle Leishman
Nicole Packer
Bill Thompson
Michael Withford

recipient receiving award Academic Staff Awards
Distinguished Professors

Together At Last –
Introducing the Academic Staff Awards

This year, to endorse and support the nexus between teaching and research, the Vice-Chancellor’s Learning & Teaching Awards and the Research Excellence Awards will be celebrated together, as the Academic Staff Awards. Winners of the awards will be announced in a ceremony on 1 November 2017. Continue reading Together At Last –
Introducing the Academic Staff Awards

Top Tips If You’re New To Teaching (Or Need A Refresher)

[adapted from a previous article by Chris Froissard]

Are you a new member of teaching staff at Macquarie? You may be feeling overwhelmed, in the lead up Session 2, having to familiarise yourself with a new learning platform, a myriad of new educational technologies, and the many policies and customs of your department and faculty. Continue reading Top Tips If You’re New To Teaching (Or Need A Refresher)

3 Super Functions Of Echo360’s New Active Learning Platform – What you need to know

From Session 2 2017, Echo360’s upgraded software, Active Learning Platform (ALP), will be available in all units. Over the next few months, the faculties and the Learning Innovation Hub will be running a number of workshops, posts and events to support the adoption of this new software by the teaching community (further details at bottom of article).

“It is a pedagogical tool, not just a classroom recorder.  Instructors love it because they can track student questions and answers. Students are engaging us through the platform in the way we want them to”  Dr. Kem Rogers, University of Western Ontario.

Continue reading 3 Super Functions Of Echo360’s New Active Learning Platform – What you need to know